Ciragan Palace (Ciragan Caddesi 32, Istanbul) – this palace was built by Sultan Abdulaziz between 1863 and 1872 Abdulaziz resided there until his death in 1876. The word “Ciagan” is Persian for :”light spreading”. His successor (Sultan Murad V – his nephew) moved in and stayed for just 93 days (when he was dethroned by his brother Abdulhamid II – and resided there until 1904).
In 1909, during the Ottoman Empire’s second constitutional monarchy, Sultan Mehmet V Resat let the Parliament hold their meetings at this Palace. On January 1910, the Palace was destroyed by a fire. With only the outer walls remaining, it was used as a football stadium by the prominent Istanbul football team Besiktas JK for many years. In 1989, that dilapidated site was purchased by a Japanese corporation, which restored the palace and turned into a luxury hotel. The current tenants are the Kempinski Hotels. Note: only hotel guests are allowed full access to the hotel grounds. Still, visitors can take photos of the building from outside and the lobby areas.